kjbettley

My digital allotment

MM5: Learning How to Speed Read in an Information Overloaded World

Webinar Reflection

Title: Learning How to Speed Read in an Information Overloaded World

Date: Tuesday, October 28th, 2014 2:30 AM (GMT Standard Time)|Duration: 60 Minutes

Presenter: Zaid Ali Alsagoff

Medium: WizIQ Webinar (Online)

In previous posts I took the time to answer each of the questions on the template, but after reading in the forums I realised that I don’t need to do this.

I found this a difficult webinar to keep focussed on and in fact stop watching the webinars for a few weeks after this one. The presenter was indeed very nice, but I felt he spent too much time laughing and joking instead of actually providing useful information and techniques.

However it did encourage me to do a reading test in which I only scored 400 words the first time round. This surprised me as I consider myself to be a very good reader and fairly quick. I realised that I was tired and wasn’t really putting in much effort and so tried again after a break, a drink of water and a cake. This improved my score to 650 (more than double).

I think practice is one of the key elements to speed reading, that and really making yourself focus when practising. I found that after a cup of coffee and something to eat, sitting in a quiet space and allowing myself to focus meant that I was able to remember most of the detail from texts I was reading (using a speed reader – http://www.spreeder.com/) at around 650 words per minute. I’m sure with more practice I could increase this.

My – How to use spreeder video

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 28, 2014 by in Moodle Mooc 5.
